Jerusalem, a Poem, part 2

notworthy2tiehissandals
3 min readJan 30, 2023

--

City of Peace

I am the City of Peace

I have heard and seen every breath and sigh of the prayers within my walls

But only those which hold all within me as dear to them as I do are kept held within my stones

I called none to me here to harm or fight another.

I am no-one’s capital, proclaimed under any Imperial Empire’s noisy pride or might

Soldiers and traitors have no sway over my sight

For I belong to those who truly love me.

And love the next to himself the same.

As you treat the nameless guest, so I shall treat you

As you shelter and care for their young ones as your own

So shall I shelter and care for you, as my own.

I am no-one’s capital..

but Our Creator’s

I am the City of Peace.

I see the blasphemy of death, and lethal arms borne

My compassion for the fear in the eyes of those who wield them, the sole reason I do not fall upon myself and crash upon them.

And for the sake of those to come. Those who will hearken to my name.

I am calling for the laying down of those arms

For all of our

Peace.

I see confused under confusions

Kept that way by those who should know better.

I see miracles denied and profanities praised.

I see oil drilling a week after claims for security and safety are made with pleas hiding the dollars in their Baron’s barren eyes.

So close by as to pierce my soul.

I see snakes disguised as Kings.

But those with two tongues dig their own holes to fall within.

For as Moses cast out serpents, surely he will do again.

Should none in this world see, I see all, as Our Father in Heaven sees all.

I will settle for nothing less than submission to His Law

The Law is Peace and Harmony

His Law is Equality

And the Law is apology where we have done wrong, and forgiveness when actions prove that satisfactorily sincere.

The Law is not to judge another, for Itself is Judge enough,

or to rest until we have scoured our hearts with the torches of our prayers to shine on where we have courted hatred or believed lies

And heal those wounds with the same heart’s understanding.

And the Law gives, that Mercy will be bestowed where mercy is called for.

Oh that my children would both bow down their heads, and arise together to call aloud

With one heart

With one mind

For freedom from the shackles of labels and the interests of their wars.

And in burning the flags, to shed and refuse the very same.

I am the City of Peace

I am a place for prophets and saints!

not for usury, money changers and their president’s double faced offspring.

Oh that those who know would see that earthquakes ruminate from the same stones as my walls.

And

I am calling all who would hearken

For the sake of my name

To stand up for Peace together

To earn the desert rainfall of my safety — Protection, and Grace -

That the abomination of desolation will be kept from exiling all who have clung to the words of those claiming divine right to append my commandments

by which ye all should agree, considering the commonality

and so walk within my walls, as their walls.

Do not kill

Do not steal

Do not cheat

Do not bear false witness

Do not covet another’s home

Do not refuse the voice

Of the One who gives that life

To

Us

All

I am the City of Peace

--

--